ATP Challenger tennis returns to Canberra

After a three year absence the Canberra International returns to the Canberra Tennis Centre.

The men’s tournament is an ATP Challenger 100, the women play an ITF 60 event.

In 2020 the smoke from bushfires saw the event moved to Bendigo, then in 2021 the event wasn’t held due to COVID and in 2022 it was again shifted to Bendigo.

In 2019 it was Hubert Hurkacz that took home the trophy. The Polish player has since gone on to bigger things reaching no. 9 on the rankings in November 2021. He also won the ATP Masters 1000 in Miami in 2021.

P2 Advisory Canberra International Tournament Director Kim Kachel is looking forward to a big summer of tennis ahead.

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA – APRIL 3, 2022:. ACT Clay Court International #2 men’s singles final. ITF M25. Winner Jason Kubler and Tennis ACT CEO Kim Kachel. (Photo by Rob Keating/Robicia Tennis Photography)

“We are thrilled to welcome the tournament back to Canberra after a three-year break. Canberra is known for hosting some of the best events around the globe, thanks to the world-class facilities at the Canberra Tennis Centre and Next Gen Canberra, exceptional hospitality at the Capital Hotel Group, and an abundance of great restaurants and cafes for players and their support teams,” Kachel said.

“We are looking forward to giving players, officials and fans an unforgettable Canberra experience.”

Marton Fucsovics headlines the men’s field. Fucsovics was runnerup in 2018 losing to Andreas Seppi. He has a career-high ranking of no. 31 back in 2019.

Canberra: 13 January 2018 – Hungary’s Marton Fucsovics hits a forehand at 4-4 in the first set. Seppi won the title match 5-7, 6-4, 6-3.. Photo by Rob Keating,

You can view photos from the 2018 Canberra International final at our tennis photography website.

Another former runner-up, Jan-Lennard Struff also makes a return to Canberra. He lost to Dudi Sela in 2017. Struff was at no. 29 in the rankings back in August, 2020.

Canberra: 14 January 2017 – Germany’s Jan-Lennard Struff hits a backhand during the final against Dudi Sela. Photo by Rob Keating,

The women’s field sees Ukraine’s world no. 99 Kateryna Baindl as the top seed and world ranked no. 103 Anna Karolina Schmiedlova second on the acceptance list. Schmiedlova has a career-high ranking of no. 26 back in October, 2015.

Other notable players include Great Britain’s Katie Boulter and Jodie Burrage. Former world no. 23 from Ukraine Lesia Tsurenko and Denmark’s world no. 96 Clara Tauson who was ranked at no. 33 back in February of this year.

Tauson now appears to have withdrawn from the tournament.

Leave a Comment