Australia’s Astra Sharma has seen a 0-40 lead turn into a 30-15 advantage to her opponent after an officiating error by Colombian umpire Luis David Armenta Castro.
Giulia Gatto-Monticone from Italy was serving at 4-6, 7-5, 1-1 and lost the first point after double-faulting.
The next point saw the Italian hit into the net for 0-30. The next point saw Gatto-Monticone hit just long. The shot was close enough for the umpire to get out of his chair to inspect the mark.
The score should have been 0-40. After he went back to his chair he called the score at 30-15.
The next point saw Sharma hit into the net and the score should have been 15-40. Instead he called 40-15.
The next point was again a long shot over the baseline by Gatto-Monticone and instead of it being the game to Sharma the umpire called 40-30.
Sharma then hit well long and the umpire called game to Gatto-Monticone.
The game was being called on WTA TV and the commentator was pointing out an error in the score.
Also the on-screen score had moved to 0-40 and then was not updated after that.
Sharma then questioned the umpire regarding the score as she didn’t think it was correct.
They discussed how the points had ended, Sharma asked for a linesperson to have an input however the umpire said they had rotated away from the court.
The tournament supervisor was also called to the court but no change was made to correct the score.
Gatto-Monticone should have been down a break at 2-1 with Sharma to serve, instead she was up 2-1.
You have to wonder what the umpire was doing. From what I understand the scores shown onscreen are taken from the data entered by the umpire. Why did the score stop on 0-40?
Here is Sharma’s recollection of the incident as published on Twitter.
To people saying I should have known the score, here is what happened for me:
1) at 40-15 I thought I had won the game but when I asked the umpire he said no. I thought I miscounted since I do sometimes lose track of the score when I’m so focused, so I usually trust the ump 1/6
2) I was disoriented and confused, trying to remember what points I had won, so I mistakenly thought he was saying it was 40-30 to me, which I thought was OK, I probably miscounted one point.
3) after he called game to my opponent the next point, I knew something was wrong 2/6
I knew I hadn’t lost that many points. I tried to argue with him and he said that he couldn’t remember how the points went but neither could I, so there’s nothing he could do. 3/6
4) I could only recall that she missed twice long. Both he and my opponent then said I had supposedly missed 2 bh returns and a fh miss. I couldn’t defend myself because I want able to tell them how I won the rest of my points 4/6
5) I knew something was wrong so I asked for video replay, he said there was none. I asked to speak to the linesumpire who had called my opponents misses. He said they had rotated out and he couldn’t get them back. He pressured me saying I cannot delay play if I had no proof 5/6
6) I was starting to feel crazy and doubt myself because both of them seemed to recall things I could not. I didnt know what to do, all I could tell a supervisor was that I thought I won the game but my proof was she missed long twice 6/6
After that incident Gatto-Monticone ran away with the set to claim a 4-6, 7-5, 6-1 victory.
The Italian played dumb when the discussion took place over the score dispute.